Free Download: Grape Juice Records’ Friends and Family II

Local record label Grape Juice Records is spreading the holiday cheer with a free compilation, available for download now on their Bandcamp page.  The label, which represents local artists including The Minneapolis Henrys, Curtis Evans, and Eric Swanson, is also socially conscious, donating a portion of proceeds to charities chosen by the bands. The compilation, Friends and Family II, includes artists represented by the label, as well as other Chicago artists who have worked with Grape Juice over the past year.

Check it out, it’s a great sounding compilation and a way to be introduced to a pretty talented crop of Chicago singer-songwriters.  My personal favorites on here include the tracks from Jon Drake & the Shakes, Rachele Eve, Musikanto, and The Shams Band.

  1. Jon Drake & The Shakes – Margie
  2. Julie Meckler – Deportation Blues
  3. Will Phalen – Candycane Mountain In My Mind
  4. Rachele Eve – Pronouncing Logic
  5. Musikanto – To See You One More Time
  6. Rambos – USA
  7. Curtis Evans & Our Friend Electric – Mark of the  Beast
  8. Derek Nelson & The Musicians – Come and Wait
  9. No Ordinary Oswald – 40 Watt Womb
  10. The Minneapolis Henrys – Where My Mind’s Been (2006 unreleased)
  11. The Shams Band – In The Sun